Thursday, April 4, 2013

Sabah, Melaka, Perak, Perlis state assemblies dissolved

Posted by Smookiekins On 4/04/2013 10:57:00 AM


KUCHING: Sabah Chief Minister announced the dissolution of the state legislative assembly yesterday at about 4pm after obtaining the consent of the Yang Dipertua Negeri Tun Juhar Mahiruddin at the Istana Negeri.

The dissolution will enable the state election to be held simultaneously with the federal polls.

Musa, who is the state Barisan Nasional (BN) chairman, said he hoped that the election in Sabah would be smooth and peaceful.

Sabah’s security came under threat recently following the intrusion of armed terrorists from the southern Philippines.

In the general election in 2008, BN won 24 parliamentary and 59 state seats in Sabah, losing only the Kota Kinabalu parliamentary seat and the Sri Tanjung state seat to Democratic Action party (DAP).

The political landscape in Sabah changed, however, when the Sabah Progressive Party (SAPP), a BN component party, and several elected representative switched their political affiliation.

The 20 BN MPs from Sabah in the 12th Dewan Rakyat comprised 12 from UMNO, three from Parti Bersatu Sabah (PBS), three from the United Pasokmomogun Kadazandusan Murut Organization (Upko), one from the Liberal Democratic Party (LDP) and one from Parti Bersatu Rakyat Sabah (PBRS).

The BN had 56 state seats at the time of dissolution of the state assembly held by UMNO (31), PBS (12), Upko (6), Gerakan (3), LDP (2), PBRS (1) and MCA (1).

The opposition had four seats – three held by SAPP and one by DAP.

Other states that dissolved their respective state assemblies yesterday are Melaka, Perak and Perlis.

Negeri Sembilan assembly was automatically dissolved on March 28 when its term ran out.

Meanwhile in Penang, Chief Minister Lim Guan Eng said he would announce the dissolution of the state assembly after an audience with the Yang Dipertua Negeri, Tun Abdul Rahman Abbas at 9.30 am today.

Penang has 40 state seats. After the general election in 2008, the Pakatan Opposition pact formed the state government when DAP won 19 seats, PKR, nine and PAS, one. BN won 11 seats, all of them represented by UMNO.

There are 13 parliamentary seats in Penang with DAP holding seven, PKR four and BN two. Two PKR MPs later left the party and declared themselves as independent MPs.

Other states which told the reporters they are waiting to seek audience with their respective Sultans to obtain consent to dissolve the assemblies are Terengganu and Kedah.

Prime Minister Datuk Seri Najib Tun Abdul Razak when announcing the dissolution of the Dewan Rakyat in Putrajaya had advised the states to also dissolve their state assemblies as well so that the 13th general election could be held simultaneously with state elections, except for Sarawak which last held its state election in 2011.

Source : Borneo Post


1 comment:

  1. Wow, this post is pleasant, my younger sister is analyzing
    these things, so I am going to tell her.

    my website - healthy waist to height ratio


Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...